it’s all about Him

“Jesus, Lover of my soul. All consuming fire is in Your gaze.
Jesus, I want You to know. I will follow You all my days.
For no one else in history is like You and history itself belongs to You.
Alpha and Omega, You have loved me and I will share eternity with You.

It’s all about You, Jesus. And all this is for You, for Your glory and Your fame.
It’s not about me, as if You should do things my way.
You alone are God and I surrender to Your ways.”
~Paul Oakley

I have found the words to this song to often be the prayer of my heart.  Most of the time it is when I am reminded of my own frailties or the inability to control life…especially when compared to the incredible greatness of the One who created all that there is.  I’m reminded of what life is all about…bringing glory to God. Not ME!

It’s so easy for me to get caught up in wanting to bring pleasure to me…do the things that please me and bring me satisfaction.  There is a release that comes when I’m reminded of why I am here…not to keep up with the Joneses, not to try to be the smartest, the most beautiful, the most talented, the most intelligent…you get the idea.  I’m here to bring glory to God.

Max Lucado furthers this thought in picturesque language and analogies in his book, “It’s Not About Me.”  Just as the earth used to be thought of as the center of our solar system, so we feel that our world revolves around us and that is what life is all about.

“Blame it on Copernicus”, Lucado says.  He’s the one who came proposing the theory that the sun in fact was the center of the solar system.  His ideas were not readily accepted by all and in fact he only published his works on the subject on his deathbed…perhaps to avoid further problems.  It suffices to say…we humans don’t adjust well to change…especially if it means bumping US off center!

Lucado explains that “What Copernicus did for the earth, God does for our souls.  Tapping the collective shoulder of humanity, he points to the Son—his Son—and says, “Behold the center of it all.”

 Let me live my life as such!

Leave a Reply

