be still my soul

When peace like a river attendeth my way.  When storm clouds like sea billows roll.  Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say it is well, it is well with my soul.

The lines from this familiar hymn came to me as I sat here thinking of the peace that can come when I rest in the Lord.  No matter what my circumstances when I remind myself of the truth of how things really are…I can rest because God has my life in His hands. 

“Be still, my soul! the Lord is on thy side; Bear patiently the cross of grief or pain.  Leave to thy God to order and provide; In every change He faithful will remain.  Be still, my soul! thy best, thy heav’nly Friend thro’ thorny ways leads to a joyful end.

Be still, my soul! thy God doth undertake to guide the future as He has the past.  Thy hope, thy confidence let nothing shake;  All now mysterious shall be bright at last.  Be still, my soul! the waves and winds still know His voice who ruled them while He dwelt below.

Be still, my soul! the hour is hastn’ning on when we shall be forever with the Lord, When disappointment, grief, and fear are gone, sorrow forgot, love’s purest joys restored.  Be still, my soul! when change and tears are past, all safe and blessed we shall meet at last.

Katharina von Schlegel

It is such a consolation to know that Jesus is constant.  I can rest because He is on the job.  Even when things feel uncertain my steps are being ordered of the Lord. 

A friend just recently gave me this word picture.  Imagine God sitting at a desk.  A secretary comes in and hands Him a set of files.  They have my name written on the tabs.  He looks over them carefully and in as He does He comments over the variety of assignments and circumstances contained therein.  “Yes, she can handle this.  I know she’s well capable of this.  Oh…I can entrust this to her because I know she can carry this out.  No…there’s no way I would do this to her!  This would be absolutely too much to ask.  I won’t ask her to do that.”  As He returns the files He has made choice…choice between what is too heavy for me at the time and what would help me to grow even though maybe a difficult challenge.  But one thing for sure…I can rest assured I am faced with nothing that has not passed through His hands first. 

He is my father.  My Abba Father.  I love to just say those words sometimes…Abba Father.  He has given me such a wonderful demonstration of a real father in my own natural father.  When I’m happy He rejoices with me.  When I’m sad He holds me in his arms and cries with me.  In many of my most difficult times in life…my father has given me the security of knowing I am loved and understood.  He doesn’t have to fix my problem necessarily…just comfort, hold, and assure me he cares.  How much more my Heavenly Father must love me.  What a difference it makes to view God as a loving Father rather than a severe judge. 

Thank You, Father, for Your steadfast love, mercy, forgiveness, comfort, care, and Your arms that just hold me and remind me I am loved.

Leave a Reply

