johnny the bagger

 I received this today in an email from Zig Ziglar’s company.  

_________________________________________ 

The Simple Truths of Service is a story about about how little thoughtful acts can make a difference in the lives of others.  Although I first heard it was a true story I’ve since heard it may not be.  Either way it’s inspirational!

Click here to view the video, The Simple Truths of Service or copy and paste this address into your browser: http://www.stservicemovie.com/.

4 thoughts on “johnny the bagger

  1. That was so sweet!!! All because one person took the initiative to reach out to others… and he wasn’t intrusive about it, just caring. That’s so admirable. Thanks for sharing, Rachel.

  2. I was sent the video from a friend and tried to find more info about Johnny, how he’s doing, where he works, etc.. I have been unable to find one shred of evidence that this story is based on fact. I also find it hard to believe that NO ONE WANTS THE PUBLICITY associated with this story. I find it harder to believe that the store that Johnny works at doesn’t want anyone to know who they are. If they’re so proud of his efforts, why not use that in their advertising to promote their store? If his parents truly are proud of him, why would they want to shield his identity? Isn’t that sending him a mixed message? “Yes, Johnny. Do something good, just don’t let anyone find out who you are….”

    Certainly Oprah would have heard of Johnny by now and would have done a story about him. This sort of thing is right up her alley. Certainly someone somewhere would have reported that they shop at this store and have met Johnny. If someone in my town inspired me in that way, I would definitely suggest the local media do a story about them or nominate them for a citizenship award or something such as that.

    The only information I can find about this story is websites that sell the DVD’s, companies that use this “true story” to inspire their employees and blogs/message boards that promote it. I don’t have anything against using storytelling to inspire people but I do draw the line at fabricating “true” tales and selling them to the trusting public for a thousand dollars each.

    The video would have been considerably more inspirational had they used interviews of the people involved rather than the way it is presented. It’s a great story, but it’s just that. A STORY. Not unlike all those “inspirational” e-mails we get every day that claim to be true, yet are proven to be false. I feel sorry for everyone who buys into this scam ( literally and figuratively ). Shame on the spinners of this tale who are cashing in on those who want so desperately to believe.

  3. Rachel,
    This was very touching, we can make a difference in whatever area God puts us in. Thanks for sharing it with the rest of us.

  4. Hey, Robin! It was so nice to have you visit my blog and comment!

    Kelly, I’m not sure who you are but I do agree that projecting a story to be true when and if in fact it is just a “story” is definitely wrong. Perhaps I should have done my research first. Thanks for bringing that to my attention.

    It does behoove us to take initiative to invest in the lives of others, as you said, Gina!

Leave a Reply

