raw “cheese” crackers

Today we ate the last of the raw crackers I just made.  They turned out really good!  Here’s the recipe for anyone interested.  For raw crackers they taste mighty similar to those little “cheezits”.  Kerria, my 9 year old cousin, helped me make them and loved them so they pass the “kid” test!  I have more almonds and sunflower seeds soaking already. 🙂

Sunflower Cheese

2/3 cup sunflower seeds

1/2 cup almonds

1/2 cup water

juice of 1 lemon

3 Tbsp. tahini*

3 sun-dried tomatoes

1 Tbsp. olive oil

3/4 tsp. turmeric

3/4 tsp. celtic salt

1/2 tsp. paprika

pinch of cayenne pepper

optional: I added some nutritional food yeast (about 2 tsp.) and some dehydrated onion (about 1/2 -1 tsp.).

PREP: Presoak almonds for at least 8 hours and sunflower seeds for at least 6 hours.

Puree all ingredients together until smooth.

Serve as a dip or dehydrate into cheese crackers…recipe follows.

* Tahini is sesame seed butter.  I didn’t have any so I made my own.

Tahini

1 cup sesame seeds

1/4 cup olive oil

1/8 tsp. celtic salt

Sunflower Cheese Crackers

Use “Sunflower Cheese” recipe.  Spread about 1/4 inch thick on dehydrator trays (solid inserts, not mesh).  Score with a knife into small squares.  Dehydrate for at least 12 hours (or until crisp…probably will take longer).  These are pretty close in flavor and texture to those familiar little orange cheese crackers we love!

Recipes taken (adapted) from Everyday Wholesome Eating …In The Raw by Kim Wilson

6 thoughts on “raw “cheese” crackers

  1. I really want to make this recipe! I need to get back into working with my dehydrater. It just seems to take FOREVER when you’re using it. Maybe I need a better quality one. The only one I could find around here was at Bed Bath and Beyond and it was just an average thingy. Anyways, I love raw recipes. Do you get a lot of good ones out of that book you mentioned? I need to find a good book on raw recipes, ones that my kids will enjoy as well. What else would you suggest? Thanks! I am glad you can encourage me to stay on the ball when it comes to eating raw:)

  2. You’ll have to try them, Janie!

    Sarah, celtic salt is salt that has been harvested using a unique farming method that purifies yet preserves the vital balance of the ocean minerals. It is a whole sea salt and is highly recommended by health practitioners and culinary chefs. It is grey in color and looks different than regular table salt.

    Here are two websites that seems to explain it thoroughly:
    http://www.pacifichealthcenter.com/updates/56.asp
    (This one explains the different processes in salt, sea salt, and celtic sea salt.)

    http://www.healthfree.com/celtic_sea_salt.html
    (This site lists health benefits of celtic sea salt.)

    Gina, this is the first recipe I’ve tried out of this book! I think adding the nutritional food yeast makes it cheesier. I also added some garlic and dehydrated onion. There are some cookie recipes I want to try, too! I’ll post when I do!

  3. We buy ours at the health food store. We have been buying ground but we have gotten it coarse before. Coarse is okay if you are putting it into something into which it is going to dissolve and be able to disperse (like soup or something) but otherwise it needs to be ground. Pepper mills grind it pretty good if you do buy it coarse. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

