perspective of not being earthbound

Some time ago a friend called from a cruise ship to say that they were standing on deck, with not a cloud in the sky and the weather perfectly balmy!  Considering the weather was less than balmy in our neck of the woods at the time, I commented to my mother that it was nice to know the weather was really like that somewhere even if it wasn’t here!” 

It made me think of my mother recounting her first airplane flight years ago.  It was a rainy day and very dreary and cloudy when she and my dad boarded the plane.  As they made their ascent they eventually crossed the source of the rain and entered into a whole new world it seemed.  Here, they were above the clouds and not a drop of rain was to be found.  No clouds barred their view of the sun.  It was pure sunlight reflecting off the clouds below.  This view was even more stunning than a cloudless day seen from the ground. 

The realization hit her that the sun is always shining!  No matter what kind of weather we are experiencing, the sun is always there and still shining.  What she knew to be true suddenly became very real to her after experiencing the view from an entirely new perspective…from above the clouds…with nothing between her and the sun! 

When I was young I use to wake up and if I didn’t have anything especially exciting to look forward to in that day I would go forth to meet the day with a less than happy attitude.  My dad explained to me that happiness was what I made of the day.  No matter what was going on, happiness was still available but my clouded view kept me from seeing so.  Happiness is definitely a choice!  It comes from adjusting your perspective. 

Although we do experience the joy of cloudless days, on earth we are unable to witness the even more glorious view from above the clouds.  But once you’ve seen the view from above the clouds you can know that even on cloudy days the sun is still up there shining…because you’ve seen it.  So it is that once we have experienced God we can know He is always there regardless of our clouded circumstances!

As long as we are “earth bound” in our view of life we are unable to see the perspective from “above”.  Colossians 3:1-2 says “If ye then be risen with Christ seek those things which are above where Christ sitteth at the right hand of the Father.  Set your affection on things above, not on things on the earth.”

Lord, give me Your eternal timeless perspective, unchanged by my circumstances!

2 thoughts on “perspective of not being earthbound

  1. Rachel,
    I LOVED this blog! I think of this often when its a dreary day, having had the same experience as your mom on a plane once. The perspective change you talk about would change any dreary day into a sunny day in your mind. Thank you for the great reminder. -S

  2. Happiness is a choice… how true is that? I am going to use that line for my children when they get up with a less than positive attitude. Sometimes Isaiah will say to me, this is a terrible day, the worse day ever! Now I have a great comeback – the day can be what you make of it, either a happy one or a sad one…

    Thanks for this post. It was very encouraging and a welcomed reminder that the Son is always shining His love on us, even in the dark and rainy seasons (or the shortened days of the winter;)

Leave a Reply

