broken…to manifest HIS power

What I read over at Sarah’s blog (Flowers Family) today really impacted me.  Here it is in her words.  I would just direct you to her blog but I want it saved in my records, too, it was so good.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

This scripture has been the one that always gets me through hard times in my life. It has for a few years now, been the scripture God uses to let me know He still cares. That He isn’t having fun with my life, mocking me, laughing at me as I stumble. But that He has a special interest in seeing the spirit of brokenness alive in my life.

2Co 12:9  And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

I listened to Zac Poonen this morning, needing something anything from the Lord. And of all the hundreds of messages we have of him, wouldnt you know I picked the one that started out with this scripture. He talked about being completely broken. To have no complaints. He said that we arent here to prove that we are the best at something, but we are here to have the chance for people to be drawn to the Lord through us.

He talked about thorns in our flesh. I dont think I ever realized that Paul was talking about the thorn in his flesh JUST before he said that verse. Zac P. said think about a man in a hospital bed. He is sick, cursing everyone, the nurses arent good enough, just complaining. The next day he gets weaker, then the next day, weaker still. Finally, he stops complaining, when the tubes are in his nose and he is too weak to complain. When we are strong, we have opinions about everything, we complain about everything. But when we are weak, how different our spirit is.

Then he talked about Lazarus and had an interesting thought there. When they came to Jesus, they didnt even say, Lazarus is sick. They said..

Joh 11:3  Therefore his sisters sent unto him, saying, Lord, behold, he whom thou lovest is sick.

Jesus loved lazarus. And yet he didnt run to him. Just as he loves us but doesnt always seem to be in a hurry to answer our prayers and cries for help. Zac Poonen had a spiritual application to this. Jesus wanted to manifest resurrection power at that home in Bethany. He couldnt do this while Lazarus had strength of his own yet left in his body. In fact, Jesus waited 4 days AFTER he was dead to go to him. No strength. THEN Jesus raises him. Are you praying? Waiting? Jesus could be waiting for you to become weak. He waits until we become nothing, broken to manifest power in our lives.

Look at John 21.

Joh 21:3  Simon Peter saith unto them, I go a fishing. They say unto him, We also go with thee. They went forth, and entered into a ship immediately; and that night they caught nothing.

it says that night they caught nothing. Then the next verse, it says when morning was now come, Jesus stood on the shore, (but they didnt know it was him.) So, Jesus let them work all night and catch nothing. Was this mean? Or was it to teach them that they need His help to do anything. He asked them, ‘Have you caught any meat?’ and they simply answered, ‘no.’

How He fills us? He breaks us, THEN rivers can flow out of us.

I thought that last thought was so profound. Thinking of spreading the message. I thought this morning, ‘how am I ever going to do this? What do I say to people? Come, look at me, see how messed up and unequipped I am,  come along, dont you want to be like me!!?’ But after listening to this message, I feel so comforted.

He needs to break us. THEN the rivers can flow out of us.

We sing, ‘you are the potter, I am the clay.’ But the clay doesnt stay stiff and not let the potter work with it. Thinking its some great thing of its own. It yields to the potter, lets the potter have His way with it, designs it to His will.

So in ending the message Zac Poonen talks about this tremendous power God can relase in our lives. That if something is crucifying us, to glory in it! Not to complain about our circumstances. He could be allowing these things in our lives. But be comforted, that after the crucifixion, there WILL be a resurrection. Then, the power of Christ may rest upon us. If we are not glorying in our infirmities, if we are strong in our own strength, the power of God cannot rest upon us.

2Co 12:9  And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

One thought on “broken…to manifest HIS power

  1. Rachel, That blesses me even more that you were blessed by it too. That minister, Zac Poonen always speaks directly to my heart. Its not always what I want to hear, but what I need to hear. This has been a dark time in my life- then He is so good to remind me He cares still and being the light in my darkness. Even though I don’t deserve to feel anything from Him, but that makes it even so much sweeter. His total unmerited grace, available for all of us..

    It’s funny you posted about vision forum’s sale, I am going to check it out if its still going on. Ernie and I were looking on there 2 days ago for the boys. I wanted to see if there was anything good to get them out there for Christmas.. Although rubber band guns may be a little scary. lol They have good boy toys/projects there.

    Talk to you soon. Love, S

Leave a Reply

