fresh new starts

There is something inspiring and delightfully wonderful about a “beginning“.  Whether it’s the brand new beginning of a natural life (birth of a baby), the “regeneration” of a soul in Christ (becoming a new creature), the beginning of a new home in the earth when two persons unite in holy matrimony, the first day of a new year (I much prefer God’s new year’s beginning with spring rather than in winter!), the first hour of a new day, or something as simple as a fresh new journal complete with a new writing utensil.  There are a number of other “beginnings” you might add to your list.  They are promising and hold untold possibilities. 

I am so thankful for beginnings and for new beginnings.  Everyday is the first day of the rest of your life so you can always have a fresh start.  God even promises that Hi s mercies are new every morning…great is His faithfulness!

So on this first day of the rest of my life on the first day of the year, I am trying to make a fresh new start by eating healthier.  I made green smoothies this morning for the first time.  It’s a great way to get your greens!  I tried the following recipe (doubled) from the Hallelujah Acres newsletter.

Green Smoothie

1 cup strawberries (I used frozen)

2 small bananas

2 cups distilled water

2 TBSP. B-Flax (powdered supplement)

2 handfuls of chopped kale

After taste testing, I added the rest of the (small) bag of frozen strawberries, another banana, a Granny Smith apple and a little more kale.  I think it was some better with a little more sweet stuff. 

It was quite satisfying and although green, was sweet enough to drink, and very healthy!  I so appreciate when those components are all present in a dish!

 

Carrot-Bean Pate

Tonight I put the following in the food processor:

  • 1 can organic kidney beans (rinsed),
  • 2 organic carrots,
  • several red onion rings (probably the equivalent of 1 or 2 slices),
  • and a slice of tomato. 

After processing at highest speed I added some marjoram and granulated garlic to taste.  I tried it in the form of:

  1. a frilly taco (inside a kale leaf),
  2. heated in coconut oil and placed on Ezekiel Bread with my alternative to Miracle Whip spread (Vegenaise, vinegar, agave nectar, and mustard powder mixed together),
  3. and just plain, eaten with a spoon.

It was really tasty and had nice texture!

I am so thankful for God’s ultimate way to health and His incredible variety of delicious foods!

 

(Composed Jan. 1 – published Jan. 2)

4 thoughts on “fresh new starts

  1. Hmmm… kale smoothie? You go, girl! I’m excited about a new year and a fresh start as well. I can’t wait to see everything the Lord will teach me in 2009! Happy New Year, Rachel!

  2. YUM! I love green smoothies:) Now if I could just get a Vita-Mixer I would be all set;)

    Thank God for fresh starts. I love your thought on each new day being a fresh start to try again. I can not make promises for an entire year, but if I can just take it one day at a time; one fresh start after another I think I can make it. Miss you! Hope to be hearing more from you:)

  3. So good to hear from you guys! I am so thankful to discover green smoothies. Yes, Heather, a kale smoothie it is! What a wonderful and delicious way to get your greens! Gina, you’ve probably been doing them for a long time already. What combinations have become your favorites? I miss you, too! Question for you…what would you recommend for a sinus headache? My friend, Galadriel, has had one for several days.

  4. It depends on the cause of the sinus headache. Does she get them all the time? Stress related? Infection? There are some awesome essential oils that can help; and other herbs and homeopaths as well, an atlas chiropractic adjustment might be in order, too; but it just depends on the source of the problem before you can proceed. Otherwise it’s just hit and miss.

    I haven’t gotten too much into the greens part of the smoothies, since I can’t have many greens (with my varicose veins and thick blood – still working on getting rid of them). But I would love to hear what your favorite combo is. I love anything with bananas and strawberries;) I also take a liquid chlorophyll supplement to get my “greens” 🙂

Leave a Reply

