wheat and tares

Jesus’ example of the wheat and the tares came to my mind this afternoon as I was ripping up weeds (actually big poke plants that had grown up in my garden…with my originally thinking they could be some flowers I had planted some time ago).  In my haste, I broke a tomato plant that had green tomatoes on it already (growing in a completely different bed than the other tomatoes…how, why, I’m not sure…maybe seeds from the compost there???).

How thankful I am that God is the Gardener of His growing children and does everything in love and patience and carefulness, not willing that any should perish but that all should come to repentance!

7 thoughts on “wheat and tares

  1. Beautiful reflections, Rachel. I love the fact that even through the simplest, every day things spiritual lessons can be learned. And spiritual parallels and lessons seem to be abundant through God’s creation, as it was with the weeds and tomato plant in your garden. And I would agree wholeheartedly . . . I am so very thankful for the abundant love, care and patience that the Lord has towards His children and all of mankind. What a loving Savior and Father He is!

    I hope your garden is doing well for you!

    • Hi Sarah! The garden has done well, overall. I recently harvested garlic and that was a first for me! They didn’t do as well as I would have liked but I’m thankful for the experience and what did grow. We have had very little rainfall and so I have needed to water pretty much every morning and often evening, too. God’s creation is truly amazing and I am thankful for the simple lessons so readily available. Hope your gardening/canning is going well!

Leave a Reply

